Mum’s Quilt v.2 and start of v.3

September 22, 2009


Mum’s Quilt v.2, originally uploaded by Piece Play.

The first quilt I made was for Mum. The quilt was made in her chosen colour scheme of pink and green and she didn’t like it! We passed the quilt to my neice, and Mum clarified her colour scheme, and I was a bit less confident, and this nearly completed top has been languishing with a lack of conviction for over a year.  I really like it but I don’t think she does although she is a bit reluctant to tell me directly a second time.

'farmgirl' style

Last week at the shop this fabric came in. The colours and style are exactly like the photo mum showed me two years ago (clarifying the colour scheme!). So here I go again.

I find it can be difficult making things for someone else .  How to make something they will like, hopefully love, and something you are happy with and enjoy working on. My challenge with this fabric will be for the quilt to not to look ‘Christmassy’ red and green. Hopefully the  quilt can have a’modern elegant country style’. I do love the name of the collection. I grew up on a farm;  ‘old’ flatmates always said I cooked ‘farm’ food, so a ‘farmgirl’ quilt should be quite achieveable. I’ve flagged this project URGENT, so I must have something to show very  soon.

3 Responses to “Mum’s Quilt v.2 and start of v.3”

  1. pratima Says:

    Wow, I could look at this little quilt for hours. I have the same handkerchief girls fabric that I adore, but finding it so hard to cut into.
    You showcased the prints so beautifully 🙂

  2. pratima Says:

    It is always puzzling to craft something to someone’s liking and at the same time to enjoy the process.
    Hope you find a nice pattern for your mom’s favorite fabric. The print is beautiful.

    • sewplay Says:

      Thanks so much for the comments Pratima. So nice to have some encouragement! I’ve had another couple of days away and I’ve done another couple of shirting squares. They are fun. I’ll put some pictures up tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

