Personal Post -Celebrating a Wonderful Life.

March 26, 2010

With my brother and little sister at Cleland Wildlife Sanctuary

I was very fearful when I quickly wrote my last post and I wanted to explain my many longer blog breaks. At the moment I do not have internet connection in ‘BC’ and have been taking as many trips as possible there in the last couple of years.

I have never before had to bear the death of a very close loved one and I had no idea how I would be able to do it.

Dad has been ailing for the last few years and in many ways we as a family must have been  grieving a little at a time and  preparing ourselves for Dad’s death- inevitable but sad nevertheless.

All was well. I was able to spend two days with my very, very dear Dad and the rest of our family, and  I was so happy to be with him and hold his hand through his last night.

The hospital staff who have looked after him (and us) for the last couple of years were magnificent, and the warmth and support of the community in this  small country town was wondrous.

There is  lovely tradition that when there is a death of someone in or close to the community  a  flag is raised at 1/2 mast in the main street. Everyone is alerted and gathers around. Neighbours drop in with food and flowers and help to organize the funeral and afternoon tea.  During both of my parents illnesses in the last couple of years I have spent a lot more time traveling back  and forward to Booleroo, and although I have not lived in the town for many years it has felt as if I had never left and I’ll be forever grateful!

The funeral was a wonderful celebration of a long, full and happy life. We were surrounded by friends and family and I was honoured to be able to do the eulogy. I have posted this on a separate page (temporarily) for friends, family members and as a little piece of history.

I would not describe myself as superstitious or particularly sentimental but in the last couple of weeks I have been observing all sorts of invented rituals and practices. Wearing the couple of little pieces of jewellery he gave me as a child , using his hankies and wearing his pj’s.

I wore my Liberty ‘viking ships’ dress to the funeral, because I had heard a minister talking about ships and souls and peace at a previous funeral and I remembered hearing about the Vikings cremation rituals!

Those you have loved the most dearly must live on the most strongly in your memories and remain as a source of inspiration and strength.

2 Responses to “Personal Post -Celebrating a Wonderful Life.”

  1. pratima Says:

    Very heartfelt words, Kathy.
    I hope in time you’ll remember your dear dad fondly and with less pain. Thank you for sharing these heart warming pictures. It’s so wonderful to know about the little community that has been a great support and comfort to your family during these difficult days.
    Take care!
    ~Hugs~

  2. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Kathy, I am just reading this now and want to say how moving your words are. I have not had to say goodbye to either of my parents but I know the time is nearing. They are both in their 80s and are slowing down so much. My Mom wore a necklace with an eagle charm on it of my brothers for years after he died. She still puts it on at times. He died Memorial weekend (Which was just this past weekend) over 20 years ago. Time does lessen the pain but I still catch myself thinking at my Greatniece’s baptism this past Saturday….would Kevin have maybe been her Godfather. I enjoy seeing your progress on the medallion quilt. I hope you continue blogging even if it just now and them. There are no rules. It does give us a chance to stop by and touch each others lives if just a little. Sometimes a little means a lot! Love and peace to you. Theresa


Leave a Reply

