March 18, 2011

My words are inadequate as news of tragedy and courage filter to us from many parts of the world.

 

This fabric was the first of my collection, bought about five years ago not with a  project in mind but because I loved it.

It has now finally found its way to a feature place in the Civil War Quilt blocks.

Like most of my favourite fabrics it made its way into my medallion quilt as the setting triangles in a border with another Japanese fabric, the green and purplish-red flowered Yuwa.

So, so many of my treasured fabrics are from Japan.

Thinking of Japan. Thinking of the Japanese as I sew their beautiful fabrics.

Hoping that the courage of the brave, brave engineers and workers at Fukushima will be rewarded with good fortune.

 

One Response to “”

  1. pratima Says:

    Kathy, I love your unique take on Civil war blocks. Your fabrics bring out the best of each block. They are just glowing and so graphic and lovely!
    I hope things improve in Japan soon. It is heartbreaking to think of what they are going through.


Leave a Reply

