Sampler Blocks

May 24, 2011

I still haven’t  caught up with  Civil War blocks schedule. If I am able to do just two blocks in the next couple of days I’ll do a big Phew!

I also tried some sashing and I think I will use the Denyse Schmidt ‘Library Stripe’ blue. Originally my thought was to just put all the blocks together but I do prefer the blocks with a ‘frame’.

It will help to know the sashing because some of the blues I’ve used are a bit are standing out a bit and look ‘wrong’ with this fabric. I’ll leave them for now but if they are still standing out at the end I’ll change them.

The ‘Sampler Class’ has been really fun.

We’ve all been choosing sashing at the same time as we all decided on sashing rather than butting the blocks or having setting blocks.

Lyn has put some photos on the shop blog but I thought I would put a couple of larger photos here.

The class participants have chosen all of their block layouts, sashing; everything themselves, and for a couple it is their first ever patchwork. I think they have done an amazing job and the quilts and tops will be even better when they are finished.

Dianne’s

Fiona’s

Mary’s -choosing sashing with some blocks

Half of Theofani’s quilt top

Definitely 2011 is Sampler Year!

6 Responses to “Sampler Blocks”

  1. pratima Says:

    Hi Kathy, more awesome civil war blocks! Those teeny-tiny elephants are so cute!! I love your background choice. It just sings sweetly with rest of the fabrics. Your sampler class quilts turned out to be super fun! Hard to believe it is first quilt for some. They did a beautiful job. Thank you for sharing these pictures 🙂

  2. Pip Says:

    Hi Kathy,
    I think the Denyse Schmidt fabric looks stunning with your CW blocks, the only block that looks out of place is the Cotton Boll block, it seems to melt into the background, you might think about replacing the DS fabric with the striped one.

    • Kathy Says:

      Thanks Pip! Yes, it does disappear and is one of the reasons I decided to choose the sashing now. I will be more careful with the use of that fabric in the blocks now.

  3. Susan Says:

    such pretty blocks! i was wondering if you could tell me who makes the aqua floral on your last block? its gorgeous


Leave a Reply

