Joining Batting-Effie style

June 26, 2011

A few months a I was showing a customer a method of joining batting I had read about in a book..and it wasn’t working very well.  Effie rescued us both by showing us this marvelously effective, simple, neat and quick method.

There isn’t a lot of information on the web so this  may be helpful for someone else.

The quilting will hold the batting in place so I use quite big stitches.

The method would work really well for patching a damaged quilt and batting. I used my coffee mug and just marked the ‘damaged’ piece and a patch the same size.


I feels great to transform the pile of not quite big enough pieces of batting and I now have a few bed quilt sized pieces ready to go.

Meanwhile Bear naps in the ‘ not quite big enough’ now  day-bed.

2 Responses to “Joining Batting-Effie style”

  1. pratima Says:

    Thank you so much, Kathy for showing how to stitch the batting pieces together. I did this for two of the quilts earlier but I was using very tiny stitches as I was afraid of shifting. But now I can use your stitch to the pile of batting pieces waiting their turn. Thank you!
    Bear is so funny! He is growing up fast! Hugs and kisses to your cuddly bear xo

  2. Pip Says:

    I think this way of joining batting is the most efficient, I have tried another way where you cut the batting in a wavy line and then stitch together but it didn’t seem to stay together as well as the straight line method. Once everything is quilted together you usually can’t tell and it’s a great way to use up all those batting bits that have been trimmed off.
    Love the gratuitous cat photo, he looks very cuddly.


Leave a Reply

