..it was only half true

November 12, 2011

Mid Winter Rose

When I looked at my last post, I realized it was really  half-true and half-truths are not too much use for furthering one’s understanding of the Universe!

Mum had a 4th major stroke in May and surgery did not help her the recover as we had hoped.

For most of the last six months Mum did not seem distressed but she was an awful situation and  we could not have prolonged her life further.

So it has been a time of just doing the best we could do and remembering her at her feisty best.

The funeral was wonderful; she would have loved the warmth and laughter and  that it was ‘roses’ time in Booleroo.

I sewed these together while I was with Mum and my sister Lyn at the hospital. We arranged the rows together and talked about favourite roses.

There is a  way to go yet but I can see what else I need now.

The inspiration and pattern were from Kerry Dear in an edition of Quilter’s Companion Magazine.

The only other things I have done are a few blocks for Amy.

11 Responses to “..it was only half true”

  1. Una Says:

    I am sorry for your loss, Kathy. What a lovely memory the roses quilt will carry. Warm regards, Una

  2. Pratima Says:

    I am so sorry, Kathy. It is a loving tribute to your mom. Your rose quilt is breathtakingly beautiful.
    I’ve been thinking of you and hoping that you are doing well. Thank you for the sweet and thoughtful package you sent to me. I wrote you a mail when i got it but wasn’t sure if you recieved it. Sorry, if you haven’t. Take care, Kathy!

  3. Kathy Says:

    Thanks Pratima! So sorry-that’s what I mean-distracted!
    Thank you,yes I received your lovely mail and I’ll email. xx

  4. Pip Says:

    Sorry for you loss Kathy, this quilt will be a lovely memory quilt of the time you spent with your mother. Love how you have interspersed complete flowers with fussy cut flowers, I can recognise a few Kaffe and Philip Jacob flowers in there, do you have a pattern plan for this quilt or is it just evolving as you go?

  5. Kathy Says:

    Hi Pip, Thank you. The inspiration for this quilt was not at all mine. It was featured on the cover of Quilter’s Companion about 5 years ago and designed and made by Kerry Dear.
    Janet from Quiltsalot has done a very faithful version and has lined some information here.x
    http://quiltsalott.blogspot.com/2009/06/hexagon-header-quilt.html

  6. Pip Says:

    Thanks for that link Kathy, I’ve printed off the templates, I think that quilt will be a candidate for “Quilts to make” list, I’m going to have a lot of spare Kaffe fabric once I’ve finished Flower Garden and this would make good use of it.

  7. Sheila Says:

    How wonderful to have been able to spend such “quality time” with your mother in her final weeks and to have such a beautiful, tangible memory of that time. I have been looking at various renditions of this quilt appear over blogland and am succumbing to its charms. Like Pip i will have a pile of Kaffe left once “Flower garden ” is finished, Hugs


  8. Hi! Greetings from Finland! Your quilts are so fantastic! It’s so nice to find other quilters all around the world! http://www.quiltworld2.blogspot.com
    Yours, Ulla

  9. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Kathy, Thinking of you. We have been going through such a similar journey. I love the quilt you have started. The one year anniversary of my dad physically leaving us is coming. I kept thinking over Thanksgiving and Christmas what my family and I were going through last year. I am going to the baptism today of a new member in our family. My nephew named him after my deceased brother. His name is Kevin. It is taking some getting used to. I imagine it will bring some healing as well. In some ways it still for me seems too soon for his name to be passed on. My nephew did ask mom for her OK. I do look forward to holding this little one. Peace to you and your family for this New Year. Theresa

  10. Kathy Says:

    Hi Theresa,-email on the way!xx


Leave a Reply

